1 AM Blues

The bitter scent of coffee on my breath,
My tongue rolls around the words you left.
The running water dripping down the air.
It doesn’t mean a thing unless you care.

The bitter scent of lies on your breath,
My tongue rolls around the words you felt.
The running water dripping down like ink.
It doesn’t mean a thing ‘til it hits the sink.

Because we are falling, and the moment is transition.
I’m trying to prevent this, but you won’t listen.
Because we are dying, but the moment is life.
I’m trying to explain this, but I’m out of time.

So don’t let us drown when you know we can swim.
Don’t make us lose when we have it in us to win.
Don’t let me catch you running away from time.
Because we will catch up, and leave you behind.

-March 2nd, 2013

2 thoughts on “1 AM Blues

  1. Wow! Best one recently!

    Like

Leave a comment